Home Next Meetings Venue & Times Joining Group Programme Committee Purbeck U3A Links
Science Technology
Purbeck Group
Registered Charity No 1075342

John Churchill (General Support)

John is a Founder Member of S&T and joined its committee in 2011. He retired to Dorset in 2004 after a career as a chartered mechanical engineer in science based technology in and around Cambridge.

David Harris (Speaker & Venue Bookings)

David is a Founder Member of S&T. He was employed for twenty years by the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, after which he acted as consultant physicist to Dorset Police on road traffic accident reconstruction and as an independent accident investigator and expert witness.

Nigel Tennant (Group Coordinator and Admin)

Nigel is a Founder Member of the Science and Technology group and was Chairman of Purbeck U3A for three years. He has a long time interest in science and computing and is a keen reader of popular and mainstream science books.

For S&T enquiries contact Nigel at: s&t@purbecku3a.org.uk

All Committee Members above are happy to hear from S&T Group Members about any ideas they may have to improve the running of the group. Suggestions you may have for future meetings - or speakers who would be happy to give a short or full morning presentation to our group - are particularly welcome.

Please Contact the S&T Group Coordinator at: s&t@purbecku3a.org.uk

The Science & Technology Committee
There are currently six S&T Committee Members

John Hale (Technical Support & Website)

John is a Founder Member of S&T and has been a U3A member since 2007. He was for six years the Leader of the Intermediate Computing Group. All his working life he was in TV and radio programme production, mostly for the BBC at their studios in and around London.  For his profile: Click Here

Alan Green (Catering & General Support)

Alan joined S&T in 2015 and the Committee shortly after that.  He was employed in the water supply industry as a Consultant working in the UK and overseas. He has a particular interest in the Environment and Sustainability in the Construction Industry.

Ian Mogford is also a Committee Member